top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Lions of Howard High

“When I ignore a friend I have the ability to help, wouldn’t I be betraying him?”

By: Michael Cheruiyot


 

The Story:

“When I ignore a friend I have the ability to help, wouldn’t I be betraying him?”

This quote from Jayo’s favorite show “Hunter x Hunter”, in my opinion perfectly encapsulates Jayo’s personality. The three words I would use to describe him are as follows: leader, empathetic, and intelligent. His leadership skills are on display in different formats, like the fact that he is the recently elected president of Alpha Achievers. He also displays leadership by example on the track team, where he is a 3 year varsity 400m and 200m runner. His empathy for others can be talked about by countless individuals who can attest to his impeccable attitude and capacity for listening. Third and finally, When I sat down over the phone with him, he had patience and spoke with a calmness that was beyond his 17 years. Like most Howard High students, he has high aspirations for after he graduates high school. He plans to attend the University of Pennsylvania for their pre-med course and for their track program. He has had this plan mapped out for himself for a very long time, having built the foundations of it by testing out of many already high level classes in order to place himself in the best academic position to fulfill his dream.

Outside of Howard High, Jayo volunteers himself to the community, often participating in food banks and does work at the library in the summer. His favorite pastime according to him is to “study general and special relativity in order to better understand the universe that we live in”.



Michael's Connection:

Anjayooluwa Oluwatobi Adegboyo, otherwise known as Jayo is one of my closest friends and our stories our intertwined. We met at the beginning of high school and our bond flourished due to our similar aspirations. I look forward to seeing how he turns out in the future and believe that he is destined for greatness.



57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lions of Howard High

samiksha varadarajan

masami stratton

bottom of page