top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Lions of Howard High

Serving Our People

By: Justin Mar


 

Sarah Mar

"I have grown up in Maryland for the majority of my life and am the middle child of three. I have always been a motivated person to strive and achieve my goals whether it was through sports, schools, or extracurriculars outside of both. Growing up I was a full time student along with being a competitive swimmer for the past 12 years. I was always a busy person with my school work, practices for swimming along with outside organizations I became a part of in high school. By being a busy student, it has trained me to be efficient with time that is spared to me, being organized and timely with all of my assignments or deadlines, and headstrong with my life goals and pursuits in the future. Not only do I focus on my school work, but to relax and take time away from the stress I also enjoy being around my friends, exercising, and being with my family to take my mind away from the stressful work and busy schedule.

I graduated from Howard High School in 2018. I took part in multiple activities at howard along with organizations to be connected with my classmates and teachers. I joined multiple service organizations because I believed it made the most impactful for students to organize such events to help the greater good. Even if we are helping to make a fraction of hope for others, it makes a difference. Not only with these extracurriculars I have participated but I also took rigorous courses to challenge myself and better prepare me for future collegiate courses. Also, Howard held many events where it allowed my friends and I to become closer and enjoy ourselves even though we had heavy work loads from our teachers.

I am currently enrolled at Virginia Tech and have finished my first year as a freshman. Not only am I a student at Virginia Tech but I am also a cadet as well. I pursued an interest in the military shortly after the start of my junior year of high school. In the future I wish to become a US officer in the United States Air Force with a specialty in intelligence. Therefore, at Virginia Tech, I am part of the Corps of Cadets program to train and learn to become an officer. It has been a rewarding and informative experience. I have learned multiple training skills solely within my first year as a freshman. The transition of civilian life to cadet life was very difficult but I have adjusted to the lifestyle. The reason I have a pursuit in the military is because I believe it is one of the most impactful ways of serving people while offering extraordinary skills and opportunities that will not be given elsewhere. Growing up, I have served my community and it was one of the most rewarding experiences I had. I wish to widen my scope of service by helping my people and I think my role as being part of the US Air Force will hopefully make an impact in the future.



Justin's Connection:

Sarah Mar is my sister, and graduated from Howard High school in 2018. Her pursuit to become an officer in the air force through the ROTC program at Virginia Tech is a common goal we share to protect and serve. Our interest in joining the military is a strong connection that members across what all branches feel, creating a sense of community and family among service members.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lions of Howard High

samiksha varadarajan

masami stratton

bottom of page