top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Lions of Howard High

Signing Together

By: Anna Whitaker


 


Ian is a junior this year whom I met through my American Sign Language class. While the two of us have always been acquainted with one another, we grew much closer this year and he is one of the most fascinating, one-of-a-kind individuals I have the privilege to know. Our connection with American Sign Language strengthened our friendship and has allowed me to explore the kind of person he is. Ian has a passion for art, as he draws inspiration from his late grandmother’s paintings and his grandfather’s photography. Growing up around such strong, influential artists drove Ian’s passion for art. However, his true love lies in the art of botany, as Ian hopes to pursue a career working with rare species’ of plants. While he was surrounded by art growing up, Ian’s interest in botany comes from within. He recalls the passion stemming from his youth: digging up plants as a child, potting them, placing them around the house, going to stores and buying new plants for decoration. Ian feels a strong bond with the plants he collects, as he is fascinated with the care and upkeep of several different species. Ian’s eye for art and passion for botany collided this year, and as a result, his house is decorated with over forty types of plants, some extremely rare. This year in art class, Ian looked to botany for much of his inspiration as he often times illustrated plants in his art, either as the central focus of the piece or just as a small background detail. Ian’s love of art and passion for botany are truly inspiring, as they are examples of how a subtle interest can guide you to your true purpose in life.



Anna's Connection:

While I did know Ian previously, he is definitely someone who I feel people should learn more about. We actually went to prom together this year, and he made the corsage on my wrist! Ian’s friendship is very special to me because he always makes me laugh and manages to reassure me if I ever feel doubtful of myself. I admire Ian’s passion, lack of fear for being himself, and his ability to be headstrong even in the most trying times. His ability to express himself creatively is a trait that I believe cannot be taught, but rather it is a God given gift that Ian is lucky enough to be able to pursue.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lions of Howard High

samiksha varadarajan

masami stratton

bottom of page