top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Lions of Howard High

Rekindling a Love for Arts in our Community

By: Brooke Morgan


 

Lions Of Howard Madeline Buchmann. Madeline Buchmann is a junior and is heavily entrenched in the Howard Music program. She has played the guitar and piano in many of the concerts and Showcases at Howard, and built a reputation as a great musician. Her love for music is inspiring, she expressed to me how amazing being in the music program at Howard has affected her, “being part of such a loving and supportive community has really made my years at Howard great, with all of the different groups and cliques that tend to make up the school, the music department tends to bring them all together into one huge mixture. No matter how different, we all just put aside our differences and work together and support each other to do what we love, in a place where all of us feel safe. I feel like the F hallway [music department at Howard] is kind of my home in a way. It is where I feel like I can be myself without having to fit into a specific category. There, you’re valued for what you do, not how you present yourself, and that has definitely allowed me to pursue so many of my creative goals with the support of the music community behind me”. Her love of music has also influenced her future, as she wishes to go to college and major in Music Journalism, which is only offered at New York University (NYU).



Brooke's Connection

Madeline’s journey with the Howard music program is very similar to my journey with the Howard Dance program. As she described to me how the music program let her love of music flourish, I found myself feeling quite similarly about dance. The dance program has allowed me to create countless new friendships, and made me feel safe and secure within myself. Madeline’s story also emphasized to me the importance and benefits of being involved in Howard High School, as I’m sure many other people feel this way about the different programs and clubs in school.



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lions of Howard High

samiksha varadarajan

masami stratton

bottom of page