top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Lions of Howard High

Our Resident Monarch

By: Tyler Guerke

 

Doug Kaplan went to Oakland Mills, UMBC and his first job in Baltimore counties schools: Woodlawn then Dundalk. Dundalk was a challenge for him, there was little structure in the school, and when one of his favorite students was killed, he decided to come back to Howard County. He received an open contract, where he was offered three schools, Glenelg, Long Reach, and Howard, all as options to make sure he came. Glenelg was too far, and now his younger brothers would be coming through the school and his parents lived in Phelps luck, so he picked Howard for the community he was already coming into. Once here he coached football and basketball. He takes pride when Howard succeeds and feels when Howard comes up short. Mr Kaplan, has been setting the standard for how kids should act and learn. To this day he receives emails from students he taught saying where they are going in life, and how his class, standard, AP, or Honors, have changed their life. Teaching a such relevant course like American government, Mr Kaplan takes pride with teaching that course. He enjoys his job, because as he can make the course harder, it also means that the kids will rise to the challenge. In doing so, past students have come back to him saying thank you, and explaining how his class and ethics might of seen hard and unfair at the time, now later in life see his class as a mold to how they continued their career.


Tyler's Connection:

I really appreciate Mr. Kaplan's story relating to Howard High School. He was one of the most inspirational teachers I’ve ever had. Mr. Kaplan told me, “The more invested you are in a community, you will become more a part of a community then you will ever be.”. This is so true to me on many different levels, because too I am very invested in things at this school, and it is easier to take pride in what we have. Mr. Kaplan has inspired me to never quit, because I did struggle in his class, but the way he approached every situation without giving up, helped me get better over time. That how I connected with his story. Now I do not see myself giving up at failure, nor do I shy away at new opportunities. I'm striving to have an impact on my community just like Mr. Kaplan had on every one of his students that have walked through his classroom doors.



111 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lions of Howard High

samiksha varadarajan

masami stratton

bottom of page