top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Lions of Howard High

My favorite instrument: The recorder

By: Jonathan Kim


 

"In elementary school, I learned to play the recorder. Although most of my peers took little interest in playing the small woodwind, I was not like the others. I was intrigued by the variety of notes and tunes that could be created simply from holding down different finger combinations. Impressed with the complexities of music, I become more involved with music. After school daily, I would spend my free time inspecting and trying out the different instruments offered in the band storage room. The music spoke to me, and its wondrous melodies enticed me. However, the difference between professional recordings and actually playing the music firsthand became distinct when I began playing the trumpet. Since its playing style seemed similar to that of a recorder in the sense that music was created through different finger combinations, it seemed all too simple to play. To my surprise, I failed to utter a single note from the trumpet for the first few days, because trumpets require a certain mouth formation in addition to finger dexterity to play. Frustrated by my inability to replicate the beautiful tunes I heard daily, I almost quit music entirely. The journey would’ve ended there had it not been for my music teacher, who recognized my passion for music and my frustration towards the instrument. She told me to have patience with my practice, for “Rome wasn’t built in a day.” Afterwards, I practiced with more dedication towards perfecting the small details, working on my technique before I attempted difficult pieces. This pattern of dedication in practicing the small points in my technique is one that continues to this day, and has polished my musical ability, allowing me to join more prestigious bands in our community such as the Baltimore Symphony Youth Orchestra. I’m still young, but I can say with confidence that I have a lot to contribute in the future with the passion for music I’ve kindled from elementary school."


Not Wonsang
Wonjin Lee

Jon's Connection:

As a fellow musician and former member of the Peabody Wind Orchestra and Howard High School Band, I am touched by the extent of his love for music and also feel some regret towards my own departure from music in my sophomore year of high school. Wonjin and I are connected by our relation to the musical arts and our involvement in the local communities for music, as he is in the Baltimore Symphony Youth Orchestra and I participate in piano competitions and used to participate in similar orchestras and bands. I can strongly relate to his feelings of frustration he felt learning his respective instrument, and find it enthralling that he overcame the struggles associated with life as a musician.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Lions of Howard High

samiksha varadarajan

masami stratton

bottom of page